Know Your Rights
by Jeffrey J. Kroll
In Illinois, if you own or drive a motor vehicle, you must have liability insurance in order to register or operate that vehicle. The minimum amounts of car insurance required under Illinois law is $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person; $50,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of more than one person; and $20,000 liability coverage for damage to the property of another person.
It is common and practical to obtain uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage that are added to your policy and those limits often match your liability insurance policy limits. For example, if you are involved in a motor vehicle collision with a driver who does not have insurance or involved in a hit and run collision, one can file a claim with their own insurance company to recover compensation under your uninsured portion of the insurance policy. With respect to underinsured coverage, if the other driver’s insurance is just not enough to cover your medical expenses related to your injuries, you can file a claim with your insurance company for the policy limits under your underinsured policy.
If you have questions or concerns regarding insurance questions or the applicable insurance coverage related to a collision, contact the motor vehicle accident attorneys at Kaveny + Kroll for a free consultation.